Webinar: Experimental Methods for Determining CO2 Capture in the Presence of Water Vapor

Date: Thursday, 13 August 2020
Time: 10am BST (11am CEST) & 11am EDT
Duration: 25 mins plus Q&A

In the real world, capture/adsorption of CO2 is often a competition with other gas phase species, most commonly water vapour. In some cases, the concentration of H20 vapor is much higher than that of CO2 further complicating the adsorption process.

This presentation will compare the use of two of the most commonly used experimental approach for studying CO2 sorption in the presence of H20 vapor; gravimetric analysis using Dynamic Vapour Sorption (DVS) and breakthrough analyser studies. Both experimental details and case study comparisons of adsorbent performance will be presented in this webinar.


Prof Daryl Williams

Prof. Daryl Williams Prof. Daryl R. Williams graduated with a B.Sc. (Hons) in Physical Chemistry from University of Melbourne, Australia and a M.Sc. in Polymer Science from Lehigh University, USA before coming to Imperial College London complete his PhD. He is founder and Managing Director of Surface Measurement Systems and the Professor of Particle Science in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Imperial College.

Prof. Williams has published over 100 papers in refereed journals and been granted international 5 patents. His research interests include the surface and bulk characterisation of complex organic solids, including especially biopharmaceutics, foods, pharmaceuticals and polymers as well as their manufacture using spray drying, crystallisation, freeze drying, milling and granulation. The Surface and Particle Engineering Laboratory at Imperial College he leads has 4 Postdoctoral research fellows and 11 PhD students.

He has invented one and has led the commercialisation of two standard techniques for materials characterisation, the Dynamics Vapour Sorption (DVS) and the Inverse Gas Chromatography (IGC) methods via Surface Measurement Systems. His work has been recognised by Imperial College with the President’s Medal in 2017, the EEF’s Future Manufacturing Award in Innovation for 2018 and the Institution of Chemical Engineers’ Geldart Medal in 2018/19 for his “major contribution to particle technology”.

To register, please choose a session below: